Haute Mom: Kristen Crowley

Posted on Jul 30 2014 - 11:04am by Aubrey

image1Name: Kristen Crowley
Children & Ages: Veronica 6, Talon 1
Hometown/Current Location: South Lyon, MI/Chesapeake, VA
Quick Bio: Hi everyone! I am not quite sure where to start, probably because it is 4:00 am and I am getting ready for work and the coffee has not kicked in yet! Yes, my day starts at 3:30 am and ends around 10:00 pm after I get the kids (including the dogs and my husband!) to bed and the house back in order.  I am first and foremost a busy Mom who finds a way to work in a career as your local Morning Traffic Reporter and Noon Anchor at WTKR NewsChannel 3 & WGNT CW27. I love living in Hampton Roads, I have lived here for 15 years now. This may come as shock to some of you but I did NOT move here because of the military! I am a country girl at heart and I grew up on a horse farm in Michigan, I was transferred to this area as the Visual Merchandising Manager for Lord & Taylor. After the store closed I continued to work in the restaurant biz here in the area because I LOVE great food and making fabulous libations! I slowly made my transition into television and had already met my AMAZING husband who was in the Navy and has since retired after 23 years of service. I am beyond blessed to now be able to work, live and raise my family in an area that feels like home. My life is crazy and I love every minute of it! Follow me on twitter @kristencrowley3 or on Facebook at Kristen Crowley WTKR!

Q: What is your “go to” snack/toy/show/trick when your kids start to fuss?
A: In this digital age I am not ashamed to say that I use the iPhone or iPad if I know we are close to dinner time when we are out and about and the kids are getting fussy (Or I just need to empty the dishwasher in peace!). I also love keeping little snacks in my bag, yogurt bites, puffs, or a squeeze fruit pack so it keeps my youngest from going into hulk mode 🙂

Q: How do you balance being a Mommy and keeping your sense of self?
A: If I did not have my job I would live in workout clothes and a ball cap! I always take at least 10-15 minutes to plan out my outfit(s) and get ready for the next day. Outside of work I try to always throw on tinted moisturizer, mascara and lip gloss! It makes me feel SOMEWHAT pulled together, even if I have food smeared on my shirt. I have also learned to schedule in MY time i.e. hair, nails, gym, and facials to make myself feel somewhat relaxed…as short lived as that may be! I have to admit though, I am pretty much focused on my kids and families needs before mine!

Q: What is your favorite piece of advice to new Moms? 
A: Don’t stress! Every baby is different, go with your gut! You don’t see any kids in High School still carrying a pacifier or a blanket do ya? Forget the timelines! Just focus on the love and joy of YOUR kids and what makes them special!

family pic

Q: How do you incorporate fitness into your daily routine?
A: I make it work when I can, I HAVE to go to the gym on the way home from work or it typically does not happen. I  try to go for a walk / run with the kids and the dogs when it is nice out. I still work with a personal trainer twice a week. It is a sacrifice I am willing to make to have someone holding me accountable and keeping me in check. If you skip eating out one night a week you can use that money to work out with a trainer once or twice a week. The work in the gym will last you longer than the dinner out will! I also have issues with my shoulder, back and foot (the giant baby has wreaked my shoulder because of his size!) so I need a trainer to make sure I am doing things 100% correct so that I don’t hurt myself and Brian has actually helped rehab my shoulder! My other trick is I ALWAYS cook dinner with the music turned up, the kids and I dance and I do 20-25 squats whenever I have a spare moment or while holding Talon! The added weight makes those quick squats really burn!

Q: How would you describe your parenting style? 
A: Old school meets new school. I am very balanced in picking my battles and letting my kids make a lot of their own choices, BUT I am strict on respect and I have a zero tolerance policy for tantrums and whining. I am also very consistent with discipline and expectations. I grew up with a mother who was a horse trainer so I learned teaching behaviors takes consistent repetition day in and day out. Be who you want your kids to be and practice what you preach! That means both parents and whomever else may be around!

Q: Describe your “Haute Mom” (fashion) style!
Having a background in fashion merchandising helped me cultivate my style. I love fashion but I am not big on trends or fads. I love classic cuts, pops of color, flattering fits and timeless pieces. I think if you feel good in your clothes and know your body type you can grab key pieces and always feel put together! Take your best asset and build off of that! Oh and a great pair of shoes never hurts!